This website is best viewed with CSS and JavaScript enabled.

Lusitanian and Spanish Episcopal Reformed Churches host Porvoo youth pilgrimage

Posted on: August 24, 2015 8:58 AM

[The Lusitanian Church] From 24 to 29 August 2015 young members of churches of the Porvoo Communion will go in pilgrimage to Santiago de Compostela, located in Galicia, northern Spain.

The theme will be «Jesus source of living water in our pilgrimage of life» sustained in the biblical dialogue between Jesus and the Samaritan woman (John 4, 5-42).

The pilgrimage is intended to be a time of Christian living and spiritual enrichment of the pilgrims and still a factor of approximation between people and churches of the same ecclesial communion.

The route to go starts in Portugal and will follow the «Sanabrés way» in a total of approximately 120 kms. Daily there will be time for prayer and Bible study and for the knowledge and experience of different traditions and cultures present.

On Sunday August 23 the participants will celebrate the Eucharist together, at the Lusitanian parish of St. John the Evangelist in Porto. They will receive the blessing of pilgrims.

Referring to this event the Bishop of the Lusitanian Church, Jorge Pina Cabral, expressed his satisfaction at being able to welcome such a diverse group of fellow brothers and sisters in Christ who come from different parts of Europe.

In the current context of economic and social crisis, Bishop Jorge expressed the hope that the meeting in this pilgrimage between young people from the North and the South of Europe, can be a sign of necessary solidarity that should exist between people, communities, churches and countries in European continent.

The pilgrimage is organized by the Lusitanian Church (Portugal) and the Spanish Episcopal Reformed Church, member churches of the Porvoo Communion, and will be attended by 27 people from the Anglican Churches of Ireland, Scotland, England, Portugal and Spain and the Lutheran Churches of Norway, Sweden and Finland.

The Porvoo Communion is a fellowship of churches that have signed in 1992 a joint declaration to «share a common life in mission and service and sacramental ministry». It comprises the Anglican Churches of the United Kingdom, Portugal and Spain and the Lutheran Churches of northern Europe and the Baltic with a total of 15 churches.

The Lusitanian Church and the Spanish Episcopal Reformed Church are extra-provincial dioceses of the Anglican Communion under the Archbishop of Canterbury.

Em português.