This website is best viewed with CSS and JavaScript enabled.

ACC-14 Election of Vice Chair and Joint Standing Committee

Posted on: May 12, 2009 12:10 PM
Related Categories: ACC, ACC14
Canon Elizabeth Paver
Photo Credit: ACNS

During the meeting of ACC 14 in Kingston, Jamaica a new Vice Chair and four new members for the Joint Standing Committee were elected. They will join new Chair Bishop James Tengatenga (Central Africa), Mrs Philippa Amable (West Africa), Bishop Kumara Illangasinghe (Ceylon) and Ms Nomfundo Walaza (South Africa). Elizabeth Paver, a lay representative from the Church of England was elected as Vice Chair on May 9th. She will succeed Dr George Koshy from the Church of South India (United). The four new members for the Joint Standing Committee who were elected yesterday (May 11), are The Revd Dr. Ian T. Douglas, Dr Anthony Fitchett, The Rt Revd Azad Marshall and Data Stanley Isaacs. A short biography follows for each of them.

Canon Elizabeth Paver, a lay canon of Sheffield Cathedral, is a former member of the Panel of Chairs of the General Synod of the Church of England and chair of the Board of Mirfield Theological College. She has been elected as vice-chair of the ACC by 33 votes to 30. Three candidates were originally nominated, but Dr Tony Fitchett (New Zealand) withdrew leaving Canon Paver (England) and Robert Fordham (Australia) as the two candidates. 

The Revd Dr. Ian Douglas and
Dr Anthony Fitchett
Photo Credit: ACNS

The Revd Dr. Ian T. Douglas, The Episcopal Church is a passionate educator and activist for the worldwide mission of God. A recognized leader in The Episcopal Church and the Anglican Communion, Professor Douglas is a member of the Executive Council of the Episcopal Church, was a member of the Design Group for the Lambeth Conference 2008, and member-elect of the Anglican Consultative Council as a priest representing The Episcopal Church.

Dr Anthony Fitchett, Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand & Polynesia is a family doctor in Dunedin, New Zealand. He trained at Otago and worked as a house officer and registrar at Waikato Hospital. His involvement in the Anglican Church is at local, national and international levels. Dr Anthony became Lay Canon of St Paul’s Cathedral from 1996, was on the Dunedin Diocesan Trust Board from 2006 amongst many other things, this is his second ACC meeting.

The Rt Revd Azad Marshall, Episcopal Church in Jerusalem & the Middle East is originally from Pakistan. Bishop Azad was Area Bishop of the Gulf from 1994 to 2007 and became the Bishop of Iran in 2007. He also is the Director of the Episcopal Inter Faith Center in Tehran, Iran.

Dato Stanley Isaacs, Province of South East Asia is a lawyer by profession. He is the Senior partner of law firm called ‘Isaacs & Davis’ in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. He has been a member of the Diocesan Synod and Diocesan Standing Committee since 1980 and founding member of the Provincial Synod. Currently he is chairman of the Diocesan Properties Development Committee and Trustee of the Diocesan Investment Funds.