This website is best viewed with CSS and JavaScript enabled.

Hong Kong Anglican Church adopts the Covenant [corrected]

Posted on: June 20, 2013 1:19 PM
School children in Hong Kong play above the Anglican Communion's Compass Rose
Photo Credit: HKSKH
Related Categories: Covenant, Hong Kong


Hong Kong Sheng Kung Hui, the Hong Kong Anglican Church, has adopted the Anglican Communion Covenant.

The Province's General Secretary, the Revd Peter Koon, wrote to the Secretary General of the Anglican Communion Canon Kenneth Kearon informing him of the decision by HKSKH's Sixth General Synod held from 2 to 5 June.

Hong Kong is the seventh Province to adopt the Covenant, the others are La Iglesia Anglicana de Mexico, The Church of the Province of Myanmar, the Church in the Province of the West Indies, Church of the Province of South East Asia (with their own preamble), the Anglican Church of Papua New Guinea, and La Iglesia Anglicana del Cono Sur de America.

The Church of Ireland has subscribed it, and the Anglican Church of Southern Africa has adopted it subject to a ratification at its next Provincial Synod.

The Scottish Episcopal Church's General Synod defeated a resolution to agree in principle to adopt the Covenant in June 2012. The Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand & Polynesia  said it was "unable to adopt the proposed Anglican Covenant due to concerns about section 4, but subscribes to sections 1,2 and 3".

The Anglican Communion Covenant, a document that outlines the common life and values of the Communion, was described by Archbishop of Canterbury Dr Rowan Williams as "Something that helps us know where we stand together and also helps us to intensify our fellowship and our trust." It includes a section that proposes how to address significant disagreements within the Anglican Communion.

The idea of a Covenant was first raised in 2004 and member churches are currently reviewing the latest and final version.

For more on the Covenant visit

[Editor's note: The original story had omitted the response from the Anglican Church of Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia. This has been rectified]