This website is best viewed with CSS and JavaScript enabled.

Cross of St Augustine awarded to members of the 2008 Lambeth Conference Design Group

Posted on: November 12, 2008 3:18 PM
Related Categories:

The Archbishop of Canterbury, Dr Rowan Williams, has awarded the Cross of St Augustine to members of the 2008 Lambeth Conference Design Group at a ceremony at Lambeth Palace.

The recipients of the Cross of St Augustine award were as follows:

The Revd Dr Ian T Douglas, Associate Professor of World Mission & Global Christianity, Episcopal Divinity School in Masachussets, USA 

The Most Revd Ian Ernest, Archbishop of the Indian Ocean & Bishop of Mauritius, Province of the Indian Ocean

The Rt Revd Colin Fletcher, OBE Bishop of Dorchester, Church of England

The Rt Revd Winston Halapua, Suffragan Bishop for the Diocese of Polynesia in New Zealand

The Most Revd Thabo Makgoba, Archbishop of Cape Town, Anglican Church of Southern Africa

The Rt Revd Miguel Tamayo, Bishop of Uruguay, Province of the Southern Cone

The Rt Revd James Tengatenga, Bishop of Southern Malawi, Province of Central Africa

Ms Fung Yi Wong from the province of Hong Kong Sheng Kung Hui


The Cross of St Augustine was founded by Archbishop Michael Ramsey and was first awarded in February 1965. There are gold, silver and bronze crosses but in recent years the Archbishop has generally awarded silver crosses.

The Cross is presented to a small number of clergy and lay people each year who have given long and exceptionally distinguished service to the Church of England or the Anglican Communion or, occasionally, other Christian denominations.